Universe Talk

“As far as I can tell, it’s just about letting the universe know what you want and working toward it while letting go of how it comes to pass. Your job is not to figure out how it’s gonna happen for you but to open the door in your head. And when the door opens in real life, just walk through it. …Oh, and why not take a chance on faith as well?” – Jim Carrey

For the nth time, I have replayed this graduation speech delivered by Jim Carrey and it still blows my mind to this day. I have been using the phrase “send the message to the universe” ever since I was in college with my good friend Johara for more petty reasons. Crazy spoiled as it may seem, what we ask for sooner or later happens. One of the silliest message I’ve sent to the universe was that I wanted to have a class together with the boy I was crushing on back then. Lo and behold, come first day of classes, he was in my Theology class.

We took this test further and became bolder with our requests. We asked to graduate college easily. That happened. We asked that we would both have a chance to study again — this time something we love. That happened. I asked that our group win best booth in our exhibit. That happened. I said I wanted to pass the Interior Design board exam on my first take. That happened. Johara wanted a full scholarship for her masters in Paris. That happened. We asked for things, crazy things, things that happen only through the explanation of some cosmic intervention and a little bit of hard work and presence. And with grateful and awed hearts, we watch these things unfold in front of us.

So as crazy as this whole idea of sending the message to the universe, I encourage you to try it. You just might surprise yourself.

I did.

Leave a Reply

