Some cliché things I’ve learned in my early 20s

I think I’m finally getting it. I think.

 

  1. Take care of your body

I have never thought of aging as sad, I have thought of it as annoying though. I thought that I would always have the body I had when I was in college which can endure sleepless nights for weeks and take in as much junk food without blowing up. As I hit mid-20s, I felt my eyes weaken and seen cellulites build up on my arm (my arm!). And yes, if you’re wondering, the back eventually really hurts. Be kind to your body while you are young. It will be a traitor if you don’t use it well.

  1. Quit your vices and eat healthy

I am currently struggling to quit everything unhealthy. I have no desire to live to a hundred but I have no desire to get sick as early as 50 either.

  1. Take a few minutes or hours a day to really let things sink in

For me, this happens now after coming home from work. I put my legs up against the wall for that time, let the blood rush to my head a little and breathe and think about things I didn’t allow myself to think about during the day. You can allow these personal things to get to you, but only during this time. You plan things out and refigure your goals every so often so that you never get to ask yourself “What the hell am I doing here?”

  1. Find something to be thankful for everyday

My colleagues have this 100 happy days project on Instagram which I find really adorable, I have my own 365 days of happy which I started this year. I try to remember what made my day good and I write it down. At the end of the year I will post it on here. It really helps, specially on those particular kick-you-in-the-crotch-spit-on-you-neck fantastic days.

  1. Eventually, you need to learn how to live by yourself

I admit, I was scared to death when I decided to live alone among strangers – probably like how you feel when you ride roller coasters (a little excited while trying to hold the vomit in your mouth). So far, 1 month in, I am still alive sleeping beside a pepper spray. It’s hard because I have no mom to cook for me and if you know my mom, you know this is a total loss. It’s really difficult but I think also very necessary. Being alone gave me some responsibility and space. It may not be totally mine but I find this degree of independence very good for me.

  1. You can take detours towards your goals

Because let’s face it, there is never ever a straight path. I always start my year with a game plan, and trust me after 3 years of repeating that same game plan, I am still thousands of miles away from it. But I have come to terms with the fact that good things never come easy, and if you really want it, you and the universe will find a way to make it happen.

  1. It’s never about the money

I have been blindsided a few times by the dilemma of choosing jobs that pay more as compared to jobs that I would actually love. I have been in both situations. Trust me, the compensation will never be worth the overtime if you’re in a job you can’t stand. The best advice I ever received was this: “Choose a profession you feel so passionately about, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” Do not live your life by numbers (grades, money, time, etc.) – it’s an ugly lifestyle.

  1. Quality over quantity

Toxic people are bad for you, let go of them. Do not think twice about this decision. The people who will celebrate your greatness are good to have around as long as they also accept you for your faults. This works both ways. When you find these people – you are set for life. Luckily, I have already found mine.

  1. Find your niche

You know you have one. Find it in every corner. If you must, travel and see the world just so that you can understand others. Once you understand other people, that’s when you can understand yourself and find your place in the world. I’m still working on this.

Lastly…

  1. Smile

Whether you like it or not, you have a great life. Smile. It’s the least you can do for the world.

Image

Have a good long weekend, stranger. 🙂

Leave a Reply

