Another

I had a meeting with Arch. Ramon Antonio this afternoon. I’ve been waiting to be given a conversation like this one. He came by our office today for a product presentation. I was given only about 20 minutes to prepare my spiel. Luckily, this meeting turned out to be a grand lecture on design, career, and lifestyle since he liked our products immediately.

In that hour or so that we met, he talked about how he handles his clients and the strong belief that designers and architects should open their eyes to the world, and also the great potential of the Philippines. We can only learn so much in school but when we travel that’s when we find something interesting and get to use this in our craft.

The way he talked about his work was like watching him eat a really good slice of cake. He relished in it. And that, my friend, is my true goal in life. To be able to relish in the work I do, not because I have to do it but because I want to. Maybe I don’t have the means yet to have my own way but that doesn’t mean that I can’t enjoy what I do right now.

I think the reason why some people burnout easily is because they stay stagnant. We have to keep moving and when we do we might actually get to pick up something nice along the way.

This could be a sign. But who knows?

Nevertheless, it is always a pleasure to meet somebody so passionate about his work. This reminds me of the best advice that was given to me by one of my design professors: “Do something that you love and you will never have to work a day in your life.”

Have a good sleep, everybody.

Leave a Reply

